會長的話
首頁 > 關於我們 > 會長的話

 

2011年是中國香港體育協會暨奧林匹克委員會的鑽禧紀念。回首這短短六十年的滄海桑田,港協暨奧委會承先啟後,在香港、中國和世界創造了一個又一個的奇蹟。追求卓越和人性臻真善美的奧林匹克精神,已在我們當中開花結果。

 

今天香港體育的發展,不是1951年創立港協暨奧委會的先賢所能想像。日新月異的技術、專業知識和訓練,令當下的香港運動員能突破一項又一項的紀錄。我們擁有上一輩運動員夢寐以求的優越條件,如所需的設施和財政資助,加上運動員不屈不撓的精神,才能走上成功之路。當年的運動員和先行者,不時受到公眾的冷漠對待和誤解,他們仍沒有氣餒,反而傾力以赴,參與比賽。現在我們的精英運動員坐享先賢的成果,更應心存感恩。

 

在1950至1990年代的香港,體育只是社會發展的點綴,不為人所重視。投身體育的有心人注定要忍受孤立、容忍漠視,但港協暨奧委會仍能以「愚公移山」的精神面對這種逆境,默默耕耘。香港回歸祖國之後,港協暨奧委會順應時代變化和持續發展的需要,將本會名稱中的「業餘」二字刪除。時至今日,在「一國兩制」的大原則下,我們能以「中國香港」的個體地位,繼續參與國際體育事務,並在紫荊花的區旗和祖國國歌的歌聲中力臻完美,爭取榮譽。

 

未來總是變幻莫測,但可以肯定的是,未來的60年仍是生氣蓬勃的。奧委會秉承的格言——更高,更好,更快,其深遠意義不只是健身而已,更重要是達致和平、健康、幸福和團結,這高尚的精神不會隨時間而流逝。讓我們身體力行,承繼先賢的步伐,同心發揚奧林匹克精神。

 


中國香港體育協會暨奧林匹克委員會會長
霍震霆 GBS,JP

Word from President
Home > About us > Word from President

The Sports Federation & Olympic Committee of Hong Kong, China marks its diamond jubilee with celebration and reflection. The past six decades have ushered in so many changes in Hong Kong, China and the rest of the world that for those who remember the founding of the SF&OC all this today has not been achieved short of a miracle. While so much has floated under the proverbial bridge connecting past to present, the Olympic movement here has remained a constant because its philosophy – the pursuit of excellence and the triumph of the human will – is ingrained in us.

No one, however sage, in 1951 could have predicted the progress that has been made to this date, not only with the dazzling technology but also the expertise in training, coaching and participation which has seen records fall and new bars rise only to be topple yet again. The athletes of today are better in every conceivable way than their predecessors who had, for the want of the facilities and the fund to succeed, the dauntless drive in their hearts. But as superb as our sportsmen and women are, they owe, each one, a moral debt to their precursors, to the pioneers who never turned disheartened when so often they engaged their games in the midst of sometimes public indifference, sometimes incomprehension.

Back through the 1950s and into the 1990s that saw Hong Kong race ahead in development, sports were not a priority and were indeed an afterthought, if thought of at all. Those who entered into sports had to accept the oblivion, even the scorn, but persisted they did, perseverance in the face of adversity that enabled the SF&OC, which had then the adjective “amateur”, since erased, to prefix its rubric, to survive – now to thrive. We have now a much brighter sporting future in this century and a guaranteed separate status that permits our best to compete for Hong Kong under the Bauhinia emblem and, when victorious, to receive the accolades to the refrain of our national anthem, one country united, two systems guaranteed.

What does the future bode and how exactly it will unfold, no one but the oracle can predict. What is certain nevertheless for the next 60 years is the vitality and the relevance of the SF&OC whose message of striving for the higher, better, swifter is always resonant as long as the human being has a need to compete and to prove not just his fitness but his nobility in the cause of promoting peace, health, happiness and community – timeless qualities in the world of flux. Let me then join you to thank our forebears and pledge anew our commitment to the Olympic ideals that we not only practise but hope to embody in all we do.


Timothy T. T. Fok, GBS, JP
President