歷史
首頁 > 關於我們 > 歷史

中國香港體育協會暨奧林匹克委員會

香港業餘體育協會暨奧林匹克委員會早於1950年成立,並分別於1951、1952及1991年獲正式認可為國際奧林匹克委員會(國際奧委會)、亞洲奧林匹克理事會(亞奧理事會)、及東亞運動會聯會成員,負責籌組香港代表團參加奧林匹克運動會、亞洲運動會,以及東亞運動會。至1999年3月8日,中國香港業餘體育協會暨奧林匹克委員會正式易名為中國香港體育協會暨奧林匹克委員會(港協暨奧委會)。現時港協暨奧委會合共有77名會員(即本地體育總會),是香港體壇的代言人。

作為地區奧委會,本會由義務委員管理,並透過與各體育總會合作,致力於發展及推廣體育運動。各體育總會獲授權組織及管理所屬體育項目的本地活動,例如舉辦本地及在本地舉行的國際體育賽事、提供培訓予初級至精英運動員、組織及甄選本地運動員參加國際比賽,和訓練裁判、教練等等。

港協暨奧委會及各體育總會的義務委員均透過選舉產生,雖屬志願性質,但對所負責的體育範疇具有專業知識和透徹了解。根據國際奧委會及亞洲體育聯會的章程,他們須維護地區奧委會和各體育總會的自主權,保證運動員得到公平公正參加體育賽事的權利,並確保香港市民可享受高質素的體育及消閒活動。本會的會長霍震霆先生於2001年獲選為國際奧委會委員,並於1999年獲選為亞奧理事會副會長(東亞區)。他擔任這兩個職位至今,期間積極推廣奧林匹克運動。

透過本會,香港的精英運動員可受惠於奧林匹克團結基金獎學金,資助他們在本地及海外的訓練。此外,在國際體育聯會及體育總會的推薦下,並經本會向國際奧委會提名後,表現傑出的教練可有機會到海外接受高水平的訓練。本會轄下的香港奧林匹克學院為各體育界領袖、行政人員、教練及技術人員提供免費的培訓課程,例如體育管理、運動醫學及科學的免費課程,並透過「體育與奧林匹克主義社區教育計劃」及奧林匹克主義體驗營向中小學生宣揚奧林匹克精神。

半個世紀以來,本會每年三月至六月,都會舉辦長達三個月的綜合性體育活動─「體育節」。此外,自1987年開始,本會每年六月底均會舉辦「奧運日─奧運歡樂跑」,目的為慶祝國際奧委會的成立,並宣揚「奧林匹克精神」。另外,本會自2000年起,每年都會舉辦「香港傑出運動員選舉」,以表揚優秀運動員的成就。

Home > About us > History

Sports Federation & Olympic Committee of Hong Kong, China

The Amateur Sports Federation & Olympic Committee of Hong Kong was established in 1950. It was formally recognized as a member of the International Olympic Committee (IOC), Olympic Council of Asia (OCA), and East Asian Games Association (EAGA) in 1951, 1952 and 1991 respectively and is responsible for the participation of the Hong Kong Delegation to the Olympic Games, Asian Games and East Asian Games. On 8 March 1999, it was formally renamed Sports Federation & Olympic Committee of Hong Kong, China (SF&OC). At present, there are altogether 77 member associations, i.e. National Sports Association (NSA) under SF&OC, who serves as the spokesman of the sports industry in Hong Kong.

As a National Olympic Committee (NOC) under the management of elected officers, SF&OC through working closely with NSAs is dedicated to the development and promotion of sports. Each NSA is authorized to organize and manage local sports activities in its own field. These activities include organizing local and international competitions held in Hong Kong, providing training from beginner to elite levels, selecting local athletes to enter international competitions, and training umpires and coaches.

The elected officers of SF&OC and NSAs are selected by election and although they discharge their duties on a voluntary basis, they all possess professional expertise and profound understanding in sports. According to the IOC and IF’s rules, they should uphold the autonomy of the NOC / NSAs, guarantee that athletes have a fair and impartial opportunity to participate in competitions, and ensure that Hong Kong citizens can enjoy high quality sports and leisure activities. Mr. Timothy T. T. FOK, the President of SF&OC, was elected a member of IOC in 2001 and Vice President of OCA (East Asia) in 1999. He has held the two positions up till now and has played an active role in promoting the Olympic Movement.

Through SF&OC, a number of Hong Kong elite athletes have benefited from Olympic Solidarity Scholarships, receiving financial assistance in local and overseas training. Financial support has been extended to outstanding coaches who, through International Federations’ and NSAs’ recommendations and SF&OC’s nominations to IOC, may receive top-level training overseas. Under SF&OC, Hong Kong Olympic Academy provides free training courses to sports leaders, administrative executives, coaches and technicians. For example, there are free courses on sports management, sports medicine and sports science, as well as the “Sports Education on Olympism Programme for the Community” and Olympism Camps for promoting Olympism to primary and secondary school students.

Since half a century ago, SF&OC has held the “Festival of Sport” from March to June, spanning for three months each year. Moreover, starting from 1987, SF&OC organizes the “Olympic Day” run annually in late June to celebrate the establishment of IOC and promote “Olympism” to the community. In addition, SF&OC has handed out “Hong Kong Sports Stars Awards” each year since 2000 to pay tribute to outstanding athletes.